When preventing anonymity really matters (to me)

Real identity in the internet world is fundamental for a responsible use of social media and digital interaction opportunities.

Real identity is when it is verified, registered and public.

I believe it is fundamental to have this whenever facts, information and even opinions are given and shared. This is hard to implement but some social networks do that much better (like LinkedIn) thank others (like Facebook).

Despite that, I keep reading about groups advocating with anger the prevention of anonymous profile view on LinkedIn.

My personal opinion is that the anonymity is absolute a very unimportant minor issue, although I would agree that those not willing to receive anonymous visits should be allowed to reject this eventually. What I absolutely disagree with is the pretension claim to cancel anonymity feature overall.

People asking for this forget that in free of charge world, “if you are not paying for the product you ARE the product” and as a product, you cannot decide for the rules of the game.

Anyway, my question is : are we really talking about a real serious issue? Who can [anonymous viewers] potentially be?

Yes, of course we cannot know for sure (they are anonymous after all) but I try to guess.

Recruiters for example are trying to win the award for “last people on earth still calling anonymously mobile phones”. The funny(?)  is that they call you anonymously, sometimes leaving a voicemail message asking to call them back but… without leaving their number(?).  It happened to me enough times to notice. Do they know they are calling anonymously? Epic fail.

These guys, if you openly ask them, actually pretend to stay anonymous. I did it and they admitted it. Motivation: “we do no want people we peek info on Linkedin” to see who we are contact us back unless we do not want”.

Sometimes they add “you know, there are real desperate people in the world…who would do anything for a job, and my time is sooo important”. Congratulation. I wonder why you decided to work in recruiting them.

 

Now, do we really need to prevent these kind of recruiters from being anonymous? Honestly, I do not care about them. That’s just noise.

Who else might be interested in looking into my profile without letting game know? Obviously, someone interested in taking advantage form that, thus competition.

Some competitors asked me to join their network on LinkedIn, then soon after they realized I do not share with anyone updates and connections, they removed the link, demonstrating the real purpose of their kind invitation (“since you are a person I TRUST”…oh yes, sure…)

Here again, is it really a problem if they try to look into my profile anonymously? Not really. After all, I believe the social profile is something we cannot avoid, so just come and see what I permit you to see.

In all other cases, if people thinks I look great in my picture and want to watch it again and again and again anomalously, then I am sorry for their poor lives but again I do not care  to know who they are or why they do that (I have no time for that).

Finally, I asked some people who are grouping against anonymous viewers to tell me the most important reason why they do that, and their answer was: I am open and visible, and then I pretend the same from others.

That is precisely the most ridiculous and pretention request ever seen in the internet era.

IP address are not real faces. You can appear as anonymous or as someone, completely different from who you really are. You can exaggerate you competence, you can Photoshop your picture, you can invent honors, awards and endorsements.

In one word, you can lie to others. Profile Visibility will not prevent this to occur.

This is the era where collecting viewers is the most important thing. So do not be too picky with them if they are anonymous. In the end, even reading Mario Rossi or John Smith would not make any difference for you; if it does, then the morbous , curious creepy person is nobody else but you.

Leave a Reply

