Why I don’t have a facebook account (and closed my twitter one)

My opinion, after a deep analysis of social networking tribes, is that they are a great idea for clever leaders to make money.
You keep in touch with customers, you give a winning and better image of yourself to gain others trust etc…

But…if you are not making money with the social network you belong, what kind of advantages are you considering to keep staying?

If you are not making money, you are only spending.

You agree to spend your time (which is money) and to give others you personal information (which is money). For what?
You agree to share your pictures and personal thoughts and material. Why?

You agree to give away part of your freedom. (Remember TV movies while arresting?  “You have the right to remain silent..”

What are these reasons? I heard about “it helps me to find nice girls to date”, ” I had a nice dinner with old school mates”, “it’s easy to show everybody where I am or what I just bought”, “I can quickly get in touch and spread a message”…etc..etc…

I wonder if you boring exhibitionist loser had finally the number of the nice schoolmate girl you never spoke a word with before.
I wonder if this second chance you asked facebook helped you succeeding somehow. If not, I am sure you won’t tell everybody on FB.

Remember: “You have the right to remain silent..” Don’t give it away.

P.S.

I wrote this intentionally provocative post in order to start a discussion on the fact that giving away so easily our ideas, moments, our life shots can be a good way for others to profit.

One response to “Why I don’t have a facebook account (and closed my twitter one)

  1. I have to say, I could have not said this any better myself. Thank you for expessing what I thought was common sense….though I know, that is an oxymoron these days. Why would someone want to just gives away these most precious and intimate moments in time. They should be shared with only your friends and family. Who cares if you have 1 or 100,000 friends on your social network? If it’s 100,000, are they all really your friends??….I think not.

Leave a Reply

